ALU Summary

The Arithmetic Logic Unit (ALU) is split into three units (and also three physical cards): the logic unit, the arithmetic unit and the control unit. The logic and arithmetic cards handle 8-bit logic and arithmetic functions respectively. The control unit handles function decoding, zero detection and holds the condition registers.

Details of the design, construction and testing of each unit can be found in the following: